Lessons from Babel

‘….and now nothing will be restrained from them, which they imagined to do…’
Genesis 11:6

As the days pass by, the need to shrink the gap between my reality and my vision becomes even more urgent.  The journey towards the vision is not always smooth but we press on.  At times we have to fight an external war and most times the enemy is within.  The internal battle is the hardest to win in my opinion, but the most important to win.  Being at peace and one with oneself is the key to a beautiful life.  Anyway, I digress, speaking of the battles we have to fight, – I find that most of us underestimate the enemy or become too comfortable with it.  How can you win a war against an enemy you barely know?  I’ve often seen for example, people wear the badge of ‘I am my own worst critic’ with such honor and aplomb and it saddens me.  Now that I know what I know, this is the greatest disservice to oneself.  What happened to being your own best friend?

I got my aha moment as I sat on the pew on a Sunday morning listening to my Pastor read through Genesis 11:6.  It suddenly hit me.  Much has been written about the power of imagination and many testimonials of the Law of Attraction have been published.  Clearly there is power in our imagination.  I define imagination as the ‘internal vision’ or the vision of the mind.  At times we have too much clutter in that space between our ears that our internal vision is skewed. Personally, I find the most skewed imaginations that I possess are about me.  As long as those are not sound the progress towards my vision will be slower.  Not only that, but my vision may be skewed as a result as well.  So having an imagination is not good enough, having the right one is even better.

As I mentioned in my first blog post, my destiny is too important to me and I will not be the one to stop me from realizing it.  It certainly isn’t that cheap.  How then am I working towards clearing up my internal vision of myself?  By actively engaging in my understanding of who God is because I believe I was created in His image.  The bible says he is Almighty, then it means in Him I am powerful.  Where the bible says He is owns all wisdom – then in Him I am wise, He is all-sufficient – in Him I can never lack.  He is kind – I cant be cruella diville!   Darlene Zschech in her book Extravagant Worship defined worship as the response man give when they catch a glimpse of who God is. To me, worship is key in my bid to re-align my vision.

Having someone else spot potential in me that I couldn’t see was flattering.
Not anymore!
If I cant see myself clearly who should?

Last Sunday my church was celebrating academic excellence exhibited by some of our members.  I am not surprised that most of them came from the worship team!

Last year I took time to study the book of Joshua. Joshua is one man in the bible who accomplished everything God had set out for Him to accomplish. Someone reminded me of one of the keys to Joshua’s success – to meditate on the Word of God day and night.  That is my development area of the month, because THIS destiny WILL be achieved!

Happy living!


Leave a comment